How do I start this?

I guess we’ll start with introductions.

Hi, my name’s Nicole, I’m 27 years old and I currently call Florida home.

Let’s start with why I started this blog:

In 1989 I was diagnosed with congenital heart disease (defects) and I’ve been surviving ever since.  When I was younger it wasn’t that big of deal to have heart disease, in the fact that my mom did everything for me; she would talk to the school, talk to the doctors,  pay the bills and do all that stuff that comes with being chronically sick.  Now as a young adult with heart disease, I feel that I haven’t actually got a clue about anything; I mean I still have my mom help me with bills….seriously. With all of this I’ve realized that there isn’t really a lot of information out there to help young adults with congenital heart disease with the everyday struggles of needing money to live, wanting to go to university, having to fight for what you beleive is right with the doctors that have your life in their hands; it’s all very overwhelming and sometimes flat out scary.

I wanted to start a blog to give myself a place to just write it all out, a place that I find solace in knowing I’m not alone on this crazy rollercoaster that is life.  I have friends who are also young adults living with heart disease and we’re forming bonds across the country and across the globe in order to find those connects.

I’ve always trusted the opinions of my doctors, nurses, teachers, family; but what about now? What do I do when I don’t think I’m getting the best care because I’m “too old”, what do I do when I don’t know what to do, when I have to make a decision that could alter the path my life is taking; I know I’m an adult but I feel like I want an adultier adult to help me adult.

Let’s go on an adventure, let’s find our place in this great big scary world.  I hope you’re ready for the tears, heartbreak, breathtaking views and memories that await!

I leave you with this:
Of all the books in the world, the best stories are found between the pages of a passport.”                 -Unknown

Live, Laugh, Love…Always
Nicole

2 thoughts on “How do I start this?

Leave a Reply

