So it begins….again

Hi!

So today I’m finally getting out of the hospital after a much longer stay than anticipated. A few good things have come out of this stay; we know what DOESN’T work, I met some adorable kids and great staff. and it looks like I’m taking another trip to Minnesota in the very near future.

I went into the hospital initially to switch from Flecainide which was starting to cause more atrial abnormalities than before to a new medicine Sotalol which was suppose to control the amount of flutter I was getting from my heart.  In order to do this though I had to get admitted so they could keep track of how my heart was handling the switching of one drug to another. It didn’t go so hot, the Sotalol worked in not showing any flutter, but instead getting 5-10 Premature ventricular contractions (PVCs) every minute.  They tried a new beta blocker to help with this but it did not work as efficiently as they wanted it to, so I was put back on the Flecainide after 7 doses of the new medicine.

I was finally able to leave but I’m not out of the woods yet, tomorrow I go in to get a halter monitor to make sure the PVCs have calmed down to the doctor’s liking.  Since the new medicine did not work I’m pretty much left with one option to help me feel better, less tired, and overall healthier; a cardiac ablation. The ablation itself is not that “big” of a procedure, except for patients who have mechanical valves near the site…..like your’s truly. This leads into the part where I have to go to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN in the near future, they say I’m a good candidate and they are willing to give it a go.

The next week will involve getting the holter monitor, blood work, rest and relaxation, cuddling my best friend’s newborn, and trying to figure out when the next step of this crazy adventure begins!

I’ll just leave this right here:

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor and some style”       -Maya Angelou

Live, Laugh, Love…..Always,

Nicole

One thought on “So it begins….again

Leave a Reply

